POST WAR YEARS: galapagos

Posted on 04/10/2013 by

0


post-war-years-2013-500x250

This is my story of Post War Years.

A number of years ago I posted a Facebook status update about how much I loved the name “Post War Years” although the music never really did anything for me. An internet friend and fellow Arsenal supporter insisted that I listen to “The Whole World On Its Head.” And finally, this was the fork in the road. I was now on board with the music.

That song was off of album #1, and although it could have been just in my mind, the road to album #2 was a long and winding one. I don’t know if it was the band or the label (probably the latter), but it seemed like it took for-fucking-ever for Galapagos to drop.

But it wasn’t all silence in the lead-up to the sophomore record, as there were a few teases of new music. Brilliant new music, I might add.

One of the teasers was “All Eyes,” a song that was just as exciting as it was creepy. And the video only heightened this sense, as I’ve never been able to watch it without the lights on. That woman in the video is braver than I am – I’d be shitting my pants at the first sight of some of those creatures.

When Galapagos was finally released earlier this year, it was during a relatively slow time for music that I actually gave any sort of shit about. But since I like making lemonade out of lemons, I ended up spending a lot of time with this record…and I fell in love with it.

This is what a record should be all about. It tells a story. It’s sequenced perfectly, with just the right amount of ups and downs situated at the right places. The artwork fits the music and the videos were made with the artwork and music in mind. On balance, it’s an expansive artistic statement borne of meticulous preparation and strategic preparation.

If you’re not ready to take the full dive yet, start with the album’s second track “The Bell.” This is the record’s keystone, the one that confidently establishes the tone and runs with it. Although it starts out in standard verse-chorus-verse territory, this isn’t a rote exercise in color by numbers songwriting. It’s an exhilarating fight to the finish that’s as exciting as any season of The Wire or Luther.

Posted in: Video