NOFUCKINGWHERE: A TRIBUTE TO RIDE

Posted on 29/05/2012 by

0



To read more about the compilation and to get the full download, go here.

A few weeks ago when Jay Breitling, of the venerable Boston site Clicky Clicky Music Blog, asked me to write something on his first step out of the blogging “comfort zone,” I was ready to say yes before even hearing the request.

Although Jay and I shared the same city (Boston) for three years, I don’t think we’ve ever met in person. Maybe, who knows. What I do know is that our music tastes are quite similar, as I often am liking bands on Facebook he’s already liked – or vice versa. We both grew up in the suburbs of Philadelphia, and although the R5 was our gateway to the city, he had to put up with a few less stops than me. And while WXVU was his ticket to the bands eschewed by local commercial radio, WCUR and WKDU gave me my first taste of Sonic Youth, The Wedding Present, and Manic Street Preachers.

When Ride released the seminal Nowhere in 1990, I hadn’t yet checked into the indie rock party. I was 11 and still obsessed with U2 and R.E.M., so I wasn’t far off – but I still had some work to do. I wouldn’t discover the band until a few years later, perhaps around 1995, but it was one of those college radio stations that did my ears justice, yet again reminding me that most of the music that I wanted to hear was coming from the other side of the Atlantic. And it was the still standing and still wonderful West Chester institution Mad Platter where I found my copy of this record.

And this is where we finally arrive back to Jay and his step outside of the blogging comfort zone. NOFUCKINGWHERE is a free digital compilation of Clicky Clicky’s favorite Boston bands covering tracks from Nowhere, and the more I listen to it, the more I want to lock myself in my office and listen to this Ride classic on repeat. Among the compilation’s 11 tracks, there’s nary a lowlight. Eldridge Rodriguez’s (band name, not a dude’s name) take on “Vapour Trail” is amazing, and Most Bitter’s dance with “Polar Bear” is one to remember. Other immediate highlights include Guillermo Sexo’s take on “Seagull” and Young Adult’s rollicking stamp on “Decay”.

Here’s the full track listing.
1. Seagull………………………………………………. (Guillermo Sexo)
2. Kaleidoscope………………………………………………. (Slowdim)
3. In A Different Place…………………………………. (BDRM Eyes)
4. Polar Bear……………………………………………….. (Most Bitter)
5. Dreams Burn Down………………………………… (Soccer Mom)
6. Decay………………………………………………….. (Young Adults)
7. Paralysed………………………………………………….. (Greg Lyon)
8. Vapour Trail…………………………………… (Eldridge Rodriguez)
9. Taste………………………………………………….. (The Hush Now)
10. Here And Now ………………………………………. (Chandeliers)
11. Nowhere………………………………………………… (Occurrence)

It’s an awesome experience. Please support a fellow blogger and this great compilation.

Posted in: Audio