INTERVIEW: TALLINN DAGGERS

Posted on 15/06/2011 by

0


Back in April we featured Tallinn Daggers in the run up to the release of their debut album. Now that it’s June and the record is out, we’ve decided to sit down and talk to the Estonian band. We fired a few questions over to frontman Ardo Kivi about the new record, how the band become a band, and most importantly, sport.

Like a Diamond is out now on Love Forever.

1. What drove you guys to start a band? What has been your most rewarding experience so far?

I always knew I was gonna be a performer. It may sound cheesy, but it was meant to be I guess. I think the biggest influence was radio. Those long and hot summer nights by open windows and the radio playing. Just listening a lot of different sounds and taking it all in. The airwaves had the biggest influence. I’ve been in a lot of different bands but now I love working on my own. Just re-creating the same vibe that i had listening to the radio when I was 10 years old. You can actually hear a lot of it on the album.

2. Tell me about the new record. What are you hoping to accomplish? Do you have any touring plans?

It’s really hard for me to talk about the album. It might be too early for that. I’m trying to figure it out myself. The best way is to forget about it for the whole summer maybe. Just let it be and grow some roots. It’s like a freshly-planted flower, you know? Now it’s time to let it become one with the earth and surroundings. I would love to travel and do some one-off gigs but to tour and play every single night. It’s not my thing really.

3. What’s the local Estonian music scene like? Are there any bands that readers should be aware of?

There’s a really great debut tune called “Happiness” by an Estonian artist called Aladdin but he’s located in London right now. I think he will make some things happen soon.

4. If you had a chance to record a song with musical heroes, who would that be? Would you cover one of their songs, or would you write a new tune altogether?

I used to have musical heroes but not anymore. But there are few people that i would love to collaborate with. Just have them work their magic on a beat or bass line of mine and see what happens. It might happen but with whom, I really don’t know. Come to think of it, to have Philip Granqvist mastering the record was a big honor for me. I love a lot of records he has worked on, from The Tough Alliance to Air France.

5. Do you guys follow any sports? If so, who are your favourite teams / athletes?

When a I was a kid I used to follow sports a lot. I watched every game, took notes and draw logos and shit. Boston Celtics (NBA basketball team) and Larry Bird we’re MY team. I used to play and follow everything from baseball to hockey but then I got into music and everything changed. Trying to get back into sports though. I’m really into running right now cause it’s such a great get away, you know?

Posted in: Interview