INTERVIEW: GOLDEN GLOW

Posted on 16/02/2012 by

0



“Adore Me”

Home recording has received a little bit of a band name lately, at least round these parts, as we wish the whole lo-fi thing would go away. Pierre Hall of Golden Glow puts a refreshing on bedroom tapes by drawing on influences like Felt and the Velvets to construct the charming and often brilliant Tender is the Night, out now Mush Records. He was led on his journey not be concern with styles, but by necessity, as an automobile accident left him on crutches for six months.

1. Tell us about the impetus for Golden Glow. How did the group begin and how did the album come about?

Mainly out of necessity. My last group, The Lead Balloons had broken up. I was at that stage when I needed a break and felt like never making music again. Then I bought a little digital 4-track, and I had never really home-recorded before. For reasons I won’t go into, I ended up with a lot of time on my hands. The songs just came out. But the 4-track kinda dictated the different direction I went in. A lot of the songs were written around very simple 80s sounding drum-beats as oppose to previously where I had always started on guitar. The band came about because I needed to play live.

2. How would you describe your sound? What do you have planned for your next album?

The first record was very ’80s, post-punkish. I was listening to stuff like Felt, that was the blueprint for the sound really. But also American influences like the Velvet Underground and Television. It’s different now. GG is very much a full band thing, and the new record will reflect that – it’s more of a melting pot of influences. Some of the new songs are darkier, at times even funkier – with Orange Juice-style influences, especially in the drums. Having a live drummer makes such a difference – especially compared to the stuff I was doing. Still pure pop though.

3. How do your local surroundings and scene effect your music? Where are your favourite spots to perform or write? Who are some of the artists you enjoy gigging with?

I like to write 2 ways – either by myself with a guitar in a quiet room, preferably late at night. Or just jamming in the rehearsal space with the rest of the boys, no singing, just music – I’ll then record those ‘jams’ through a little mic on my 4-track, take them home and see if i can find anything that sticks, and work from there.

Manchester has affected it in that I think in a way the architecture and weather seeps into the music, without you knowing. It’s hard to explain, but it’s definitely there. We’ve been lucky enough to play with loads of bands that we love: The Drums, Wild Nothing, Crystal Stilts, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Yuck, to name a few.

4. It recently snowed all across England. What do you enjoy most about the snow? The least?

I like the snow because it completely transforms the surroundings overnight and seems to complete change peoples personalities in the process. We revert back to being children again. It’s great.
Although a few years ago when it snowed heavily for months I was also on crutches for 6 months after breaking my leg, so it kinda made a bad situation worse. If it’s gonna snow though it has to be in November/December. February and March, I dunno, it’s just not right.

5. We are all big fans of sport (especially football) here at the blog. Which sports or teams do you follow? Any memorable stories from a match?

I don’t follow any sport at all, am sorry. I think the obsessive elements of it, in Manchester especially, may have thwarted my appetite.
Do drinking games count? (Ed. note: Of course they do)

6. If you could improve the English music scene in just one way, what would you do?

Stop listening.

Posted in: Interview